Subsection 1.—The National Research Council.1

At the suggestion of the Government of Great Britain the National Research Council of Canada was established in December, 1916, as the Honorary Advisory Council for Scientific and Industrial Research.

The new organization found itself greatly handicapped during its early years by a lack of laboratory facilities. The only research laboratories of any consequence existing in Canada at that time were those of the universities, where many valuable researches were even then under way, but where the work was often seriously limited by lack of funds. This deficiency the National Research Council undertook to remedy, in particularly urgent cases, by the provision of special equipment or much-needed technical assistance. The serious shortage of scientifically trained men which the country was then experiencing led to the establishment of postgraduate research scholarships in the universities. Advisory committees were also created in some of the more important branches of science and technology, in order that the Council might have the benefit of the advice of specialists in extending its various activities.

Since 1924, the work of the Council has been largely expanded through the establishment of a number of research committees to undertake investigations on major problems, some of them of national importance. Arrangements were at first made for co-operative researches in the laboratories of Dominion and Provincial Government departments and the universities. More recently provision has been made for research work by the Council's own staff in laboratories of a more or less temporary character, and construction has been started of National Research Laboratories in which the Council will, it is hoped, be able to carry out effectively the various responsibilities assigned to it by the Research Council Act, as set out on page 939 of the Canada Year Book for 1930.

Organization and Staff.—The Council itself consists of 15 members, each of whom, with the exception of the President, is appointed for three years and serves entirely without remuneration. Its membership includes specialists in science, executives in the universities and the industries, and representatives of government departments that are carrying on scientific or industrial research.

The chief executive officer of the Council is the President. Responsible directly to him are the Secretary-Treasurer, in charge of the administrative staff, and the directors of the various professional divisions. The divisions already established by the Council are those of Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Research Information. The first three of these are actively engaged in laboratory researches. The Division of Research Information is responsible for the Council's research library, publications—including the recently established Canadian Journal of Research, a bibliographic and abstracting service, economic studies, and technical inquiries. Provision has been made for the organization of other divisions, as required.

Buildings and Equipment.—For the first 10 years of its existence the National Research Council had offices in the West Block of the Parliament Buildings at Ottawa. Early in 1927 more commodious quarters were secured in the business section of the city and the opportunity was taken to equip a small laboratory, which was urgently required in connection with the work of one of the Council's research committees. This was used until, in 1929, the Dominion Government purchased for the Council, an extensive area near the mouth of the Rideau river known as the Edwards Mill property. Plans were immediately set on foot for the

¹Prepared by F. E. Lathe, M.Sc., Director of Research Information, National Research Council, Ottawa. A list of the publications of the Research Council will be found in Chapter XXIX. 38298-554